Galloway Nails It.

My buddy Galloway just ripped out a few superbly chosen words about writers (great fodder for me on a day when I’ve no choice words of my own).

Dig:

Writers are alchemists and they are chosen not manufactured. Chosen by whom? you ask. God? I don’t believe in God, so that’s out. What is there to believe in? Something bigger than ourselves? What could be bigger than a self? What could be bigger than ‘I’? Other men like me, perhaps? Only I’ve never met any.

Writers are chosen. Chosen by what they write. Curses are cast in soiled paper wraps, hexes are hurled through space via satellite and through wires and eventually are rendered in words. Spiritual beauty is to be found in anger. For rage moves like an erotic impulse towards the experience of time suspended; rage can expand the moment so that the whole of life becomes potentially one enormous and eternal present, like a piece of writing.

3 Responses to “Galloway Nails It.”


  1. 1 galloway February 22, 2007 at 8:26 pm

    Thanks for the ping, my friend. One day I’ll do something for you.

  2. 2 Mike E February 22, 2007 at 8:32 pm

    Wait ’till I write something good.

  3. 3 galloway February 22, 2007 at 9:24 pm

    Don’t wait, write. Those who wait are written about.


Leave a Reply

