Dinner

I slipped a package of sliced Cabbot cheddar cheese into my back pocket.

‘Can I have a quarter-pound of soprasetta please?’ I asked the guy at the Brattleboro Food Co-op’s deli-counter. Strolled down the cracker aisle while my meat was sliced. Grabbed a box of Carr’s Water Crackers and stuffed them in the pouch pocket of my hoodie. Went back to the deli counter, retrieved my soprasetta, tucked the package neatly into the leg-pocket of my cargo pants.

For dessert I grabbed a Vermont Cookie Company maple-nut brownie. Then I walked right through the door.

5 Responses to “Dinner”


  1. 1 galloway October 31, 2006 at 8:04 am

    Now you’re starting to get it right.

    Incidentally, with reference to the post you commented on:

    Liar’s Paradox — from Wolfram MathWorld
    The paradox of a man who states “I am lying.” If he is lying, then he is telling the truth, and vice versa. Another version of this paradox is the Epimenides paradox. Such paradoxes are often analyzed by creating so-called “metalanguages” to separate statements into different levels on which truth and fal […]
    Liar’s Paradox – 18k

    Epimenides Paradox — from Wolfram MathWorld
    A version of the liar’s paradox, attributed to the philosopher Epimenides in the sixth century BC. “All Cretans are liars… One of their own poets has said so.” This is not a true paradox since the poet may have knowledge that at least one Cretan is, in fact, honest, and so be lying when he says that all […]
    Epimenides

    Paradox — from Wolfram MathWorld
    A statement which appears self-contradictory or contrary to expectations, also known as an antinomy. Curry (1977, p. 5) uses the term pseudoparadox to describe an apparent paradox for which, however, there is no underlying actual contradiction. Bertrand Russell classified known logical paradoxes into seve […]
    Paradox

  2. 2 pippi October 31, 2006 at 1:50 pm

    but, what did you have to drink…?
    you know me, i’m always thinking about the drinky.

    XO!

  3. 3 Xela November 1, 2006 at 12:44 am

    From the root to the fruit & back to the root again. If you had asked me a few months ago, I would have told you that being “food insecure” was not likley in my future. But, somewhere between Georgia & Deleware (via Ohio…long story) I too, was forced between a rock and a misdemeanor and had to draw on survival skills that I’d almost forgotten. Luckily for me it was alot like riding a bike. Mike e, If we were at the farm right now the soup would be on.
    Make sure to line your pockets with ziplocs at B-boro’s community Thanksgiving dinner.

  4. 4 dfect802 November 1, 2006 at 2:54 am

    just thought of this …you should see if you can work at the co-op, that way you would get loot and some free food. that place is always hiring freaks …and by freaks i mean cool people like you.

  5. 5 faqwarren November 1, 2006 at 8:18 pm

    I’m missing something- after a major natural disaster, there was a wave of serious looting and all the white middle class white professionals were dealing with the argument “starve or steal”. I was not there when it went on and it was over when I arrived. It seems my wife had tired of the argument and declaired that it was all bullishit. She grew up with middle class values and would never steal – She would just send her husband to do what was necessary to care for the family.

    Mike E despite the email address I am the husband and still the Fat Savage – be back soon. Thanks again for your help. And remeber this – would you steal to keep momma alive – then there is no argument.


Leave a Reply

