first time for everything.

I’ve never been ‘memed.’ Before tonight in fact I never thought I would be. Actually I have no idea what the hell a ‘meme’ is.

I know what you’re thinking. Doesn’t know what a ‘meme’ is? What damn planet does he live on?

Tralfamadore.

So what the hell is a ‘meme.’

Can ya smoke it?

Yeah — then be all like Whoa. I’m way ‘meamed’ off my ass..I . can’t…move!

No? Dang. I just thought since it was Velma who memed me — and Velma lives in Humbolt County — well I put 2 + 2 together and figure we be smokin D Good Shit.

Turns out it’s a game of some kind. Velma picked five words and I type out the first word that comes to mind for each one. So here it is:

1. book: deal
2. bottle: booze
3. bench: approach
4. bounce: check
5. blink: miss

& there you go. But…I still have no clue what a ‘meme’ is.

4 Responses to “first time for everything.”


  1. 1 velmalikevelvet September 8, 2006 at 12:03 pm

    meme = “coined in 1976 by Richard Dawkins, refers to a unit of cultural information that can be transmitted from one mind to another” (from wikipedia.org/wiki/meme) ALSO: “In the context of web logs / ‘blogs / blogging and other kinds of personal web sites it’s some kind of list of questions that you saw somewhere else and you decided to answer the questions. Then someone else sees them and does them and so on and so on.” (from http://thedailymeme.com/what-is-a-meme/ – more there) One of the infamous blogging memes is “100 Things About Me”.

    you are supposed to tag 5 other bloggers w/ the meme challenge. what a pain, tho. i just did this one because i owed someone something. (or was i high? hmmm…)

    check out my post Life to-do List for another example. cheers!

  2. 2 galloway September 9, 2006 at 1:25 pm

    Hey, congratulations, man.

    Never had you down for a virgin… but shit, what the hell, you broke your cherry, or at least Velma did (Velma?).

    Not to worry.

    I’ll be cracking open a pack of teabags for you, and maybe even a box of Ritz Crackers.

    “…memed for the very first time…”

    Don’t go off getting slack now.

  3. 3 Mike E September 9, 2006 at 3:22 pm

    Tea bags you say?

    Hmm.

    Sounds like you’ve been smoking diesel fuel again!

  4. 4 galloway September 10, 2006 at 4:44 pm

    I wish.

    I stopped smoking weed 3 years ago, and cigarettes at the birth of this year.

    My doctor tells me I should stop drinking…

    I may become a Catholic; then I’d be able to do all of those things, providing I confess every now and then…

    They tell me a man can sin forever if God is on his side.

    On second thoughts, perhaps diesel fuel isn’t such a bad idea.

    What do think about my new jacket?

    I liked the Castro but I only really did it for a bet.


Leave a Reply

