My Buddy Anton

Last time I saw Anton was about a year ago on the street in front of the Bar. He crossing one way, I the other, and we stopped and had a conversation in the middle of the street.

Anton was looking to get Something from someone, and dodging someone else because he owed them money.

I was looking to get Something from someone, and dodging someone else because I owed them money.

Funny thing was the person I looked to get something from was the person he owed money to, while he looked to get Something from the dude I owed money to.

We recognized, in the friendliest way possible, that we presented a Liability to one another’s plans for the evening, so — with a good laugh, a high-5 & a round of ‘good lucks!’ — we quickly parted ways.

And that was the last time I saw my buddy Anton. He died yesterday.

The brain starts to Cut Deals with itself, when a friend dies. Like, ‘Hmm. How close was I with this buddy Anton?’ As in, how upset should I be that he died?

Me & Anton were buddies. I liked the kid a hell of a lot. So I should be upset. But I hadn’t seen him in awhile. So I don’t need to be devastated. Right?

Maybe. But it feels achey & Wrong.

I have friends who’re closer with Anton. I just spoke with one on the phone. I hoped to learn more news from him. My buddy on the phone hadn’t heard any news about Anton for awhile. I had to tell him that our friend had died.

Anton was tall & kind of goofy. He was always happy to see a friend. Every time I ran into him he made a point to ask me how my writing was going. Anton cared. I appreciate that.

Gonna miss him.

10 Responses to “My Buddy Anton”


  1. 1 galloway August 6, 2006 at 1:21 pm

    Sorry to hear about your friend.

    Knowing dead people, however, is a part of getting older.

    For what it’s worth, I think your writing is going really well.

  2. 2 pippi August 6, 2006 at 6:21 pm

    *sigh*

    i’m sorry, man.

    (((((((BIG HUGS)))))

    and, on the bright side, i owe you $5.

  3. 3 Mike E August 7, 2006 at 1:10 pm

    thanks guys…So Goes, you know?

    Thing about dead friends, I guess, is we’re Lucky we knew them.

  4. 4 sonia August 9, 2006 at 10:35 am

    What happened to him?

  5. 5 Mike E August 9, 2006 at 10:38 am

    Found a bit too much of Something…Careful out there, kids.

    Thanks for visiting, sonia — drop by anytime…

  6. 6 durwood August 9, 2006 at 7:28 pm

    well that sux,

    look for me at the wifi cafe…

  7. 7 Masked August 10, 2006 at 5:23 am

    Hmm, Very Sorry Mike. I guess these kids don’t seem to be able to work out the whole drugs thing very well. I was saying on your mate Galloway’s site – ah well.

  8. 8 Mike E August 11, 2006 at 5:04 pm

    Drugs? Nope, I blame Anton’s death squarely on the Government.

    He died when his rollercoaster failed to negotiate a high-speed swerve in the Stratosphere above the Las Vegas strip.

    While he tried to outrun the cops.

    Thanks for the good comments, Masked. Good luck with your new blog!!

  9. 9 absintheve August 17, 2006 at 2:29 pm

    Anton’s dead? Mike E? How? What? Where?
    I dont know what to say…except mike E if u are feeling bad because you should be more devastated….or less…fuck the shoulds….the shoulda…Couda ….Woudas….thats what keep us down….Life is too short not to feel what you feel…..And it is wierd cause you and him live in parrallel but just slightly different universes…on the stereo of life I think your song would come out to be….I wear my sunglasses at night and his box of rain you know? doin the same thing livin in same town…So Yo I still am in New haven….staying with this dude’s house who i met from egypt…Rare that I meet someone who also immigrated here…around the same age..that wants out of this country also….I dont know why…..Anyway he has a good heart…I am learning all about the Koran..And he keeps feeding me Egyptan food….I thought someone should know where I am.. he has a computer…so I can finally check out your blog….or at least while I have a free moment..!!!So I love it so far….I am so proud of you Mike E….I miss you …..

  10. 10 Mike E August 20, 2006 at 7:20 pm

    Yeah, well it is hot damn good to hear YOU are alive!! Thought I lost you when your phone stopped working…

    …anyway I’m back in VT. Caught a ride with Maia & Matt. Get in touch!


Leave a Reply

